A Pasadena Employment Law Firm

Committed to Helping Workers

Phone

(626) 380-9000

  • worker on phone

    Many employees regularly use their personal cell phones for work-related calls. Most probably don’t realize that when they do, part of their cell phone costs may become reimbursable—even if they have plans with unlimited minutes.

    California’s Labor Code Section 2802(a) states that:

    An employer shall indemnify his or her employee for all necessary expenditures or losses incurred by the employee in direct consequence of the discharge of his or her duties, or of his or her obedience to the directions of the employer, even though unlawful, unless the employee, at the time of obeying the directions, believed them to be unlawful.

    An employer who fails to reimburse an employee for work expenses can be sued in court for reimbursement and may be required to pay the employee’s attorneys’ fees.

    Recently, a California court of appeal applied Section 2802 to work-related cell phone use.
    . . .

  • podium

    On October 11, 2014, Ramit Mizrahi will be speaking about the year’s most important employment law cases. The panel will be part of the California Employment Lawyers Association’s 27th Annual Employment Law Conference. She will be speaking alongside Andrew H. Friedman of Helmer Friedman, LLP.

    Date and time: October 11, 2014, 9:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

    Location: Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, 1775 E Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109

    For event information and to register, click here.

  • Sick employee at work

    California just made history as the second state to require paid sick days for employees! On August 30, 2014, Governor Jerry Brown signed into law the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014.

    Employees will get three days of sick leave (24 hours) per year

    Starting July 1, 2015, employees in California who work for 30 or more days within a year will be entitled to paid sick leave. They will accrue paid sick time at a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, to a maximum of 24 hours or 3 days per year. Employees will be permitted to use the time off beginning on the 90th day of employment.

    When can paid sick leave be used?

    An employee will be able to use the paid sick time for:

    1. The employee’s own care – whether for diagnosis, care, or treatment of an existing health condition or for preventive care;
    2. Care for the employee’s child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, grandparent, grandchild, or sibling – whether for an existing health condition or for preventive care; and
    3. Certain uses by an employee who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

    Logistics of Using Paid Sick Leave